Why I Love… Inside Out

Summary: Pixar give us a unique look inside the mind of
a young girl named Riley, who is struggling to handle her emotions when her family move to San Francisco.

Best Characters:

I really enjoyed all of the emotions: Joy, Fear, Disgust, Sadness and Anger. Bing Bong was amazing. So many great lines and such a touching backstory, this is Pixar after all, I think it’s a requirement for at least one emotional backstory. My favourite of the emotions though were probably Joy and Anger. I love how Anger always had his newspaper with the relevant headline, small details Pixar I see you.

Favourite Actor:

Although there are most of my favourite comedic actors in this film (Bill Hader, Mindy Kaling), my favourite by far is Amy Poehler. I couldn’t really imagine anyone else playing Joy. Seeing Poehler play Leslie Knope in Parks and Recreation, you’d understand why she’d be top choice. For me she just knocked it out of the park. She embodies joy.

Best Song:

A Pixar favourite and one of my favourite composers Michael Giacchino scored this film. Man, did he do a great job. He’s the guy that scored Up, so you know he can pack a emotional punch with his music. (I get totally emotional when I hear that one piece of music from Up, you know the one I’m talking about. One of the saddest montages in cinematic history, yeah that one.) I think my favourite piece of music from this film is Bundle Of Joy, the first song you hear in the film. Its so soft, because you hear it right after Riley has been born and everything is new, it gives a sense of beginning.

Favourite Line:

All right! We did not die today, I call that an unqualified success. – Fear

Overall:

(I promise this blog isn’t going to filled with just animation films, I literally just saw this film and I wanted to write about it straight away!)

Pixar always put their best foot forward when it comes to their work. The beauty always lies within the little details they put in, and that’s why it’s always a joy to rewatch Pixar films so you can spot tiny details you didn’t before. Pixar are always pushing the bounds of creativity and imagination and Inside Out is certainly no exception. I really love how they taken the concept of emotions and the brain and create this wondrous film for us to marvel at. I also think its great what this film is doing in terms of mental health awareness. I’ve read multiple sources that say they use the film and its emotions to explain mental health to children and help them understand these complex issues better.

Leave a comment